College of Business Illinois State University
Illinois State University
Jump over the College navigation bar.

Teaching Excellence Award


To be eligible to compete for the Manahan Family Award for Teaching Excellence in Business, a faculty member must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a full-time tenured or tenure track faculty member with at least three years service at Illinois State University
  • Receive support for their candidacy from their department chair
  • Previous recipients of this award are ineligible for consideration until a minimum of five years has elapsed since receipt of prior award.

Application Procedures

All candidates must submit a complete, up-to-date curriculum vita as part of the application process. In addition, candidates must document the scope and quality of their teaching by preparing and submitting a teaching portfolio. 

Please submit application HERE.

Teaching Portfolio

At a minimum, the teaching portfolio must include the following:

  • A statement of the candidate’s teaching philosophy.
  • A statement of the candidate’s teaching responsibilities for the last three years.
  • A summary of the candidate’s student evaluations of teaching placed in the context of departmental norms.
  • A summary statement by the department chairperson about the candidate's teaching. This statement should include:
    • The candidate’s DFSC ratings in teaching for the previous three years.
    • An evaluation of the candidate’s teaching contribution to the department and the discipline as a whole.
  • Representative course materials from at least two different instructional settings.
  • Additional portfolio elements, though optional, are desirable and may include (but are not limited to) the following:
    • Honors, awards, or other forms of recognition received for excellence in teaching.
    • Evidence of professional development activities undertaken in regard to teaching .
    • Statements from colleagues who have observed the candidate’s teaching.
    • Evidence of student achievement as a direct result of the candidate’s teaching.
    • Information about new teaching materials or techniques developed
    • Evidence of activities undertaken to assist colleagues with their teaching
    • Statements from former students who have experienced the candidate’s teaching

Information on the preparation of teaching portfolios may be found in the following references:

  • Seldin, P. 1991. The Teaching Portfolio: A Practical Guide to Improved Performance and Promotion/Tenure Decisions. Bolton, MA: Anker Publishing Co., Inc.
  • Seldin, P. 1993. Successful Use of Teaching Portfolios. Bolton, MA: Anker Publishing Co., Inc.

Candidates are encouraged to consult with the Center for the Advancement of Teaching (CAT) for additional information about teaching portfolios and their preparation.

Past Winners

  • 2018-19: Chris Tamm - Finance, Insurance and Law Department
  • 2017-18: Daniel "Eli" Sherrill - Finance, Insurance and Law Department
  • 2016-17 : Tamra Davis: Marketing Department
  • 2015-16: Hulda Black: Marketing Department
  • 2014-15: Elango Balasubramanian - Management & Quantitative Methods Department
  • 2013-14: Rachel Birkey - Accounting
  • 2012: Kim Judson - Marketing Department
  • 2011: Dale Fitzgibbons - Management & Quantitative Methods Department
  • 2010: Meredith Downes - Management & Quantitative Methods Department
  • 2009: Rosie Hauck - Accounting Department
  • 2008: Masoud Hemmasi - Management & Quantitative Methods Department
  • 2007: Jeri Beggs - Marketing Department
  • 2006: Gary Hunter - Marketing Department
  • 2005: Dan Goebel - Marketing Department
  • 2004: Joe Trefzger - Finance, Insurance & Law Department
  • 2003: John Bantham - Management & Quantitative Methods Department
  • 2002: Joseph Solberg - Finance, Insurance & Law Department
  • 2001: Steven Taylor - Marketing Department
  • 2000: Kevin Celuch - Marketing Department
  • 1999: Joseph Trefzger - Finance, Insurance & Law Department
  • 1998: Michael Humphreys - Marketing Department and Richard Ringer- Management & Quantitative Methods Department
  • 1997: Thomas Haynes, BTE and Michael Williams - Marketing Department

Prior to 1997 the award was known as the "Distinguished Teaching Award." Recipients of this award are listed below.

  • 1996: Jill Attaway and Rodger Singley - Marketing Department
  • 1995: Joe Solberg - Finance, Insurance & Law Department
  • 1993: Tim Longfellow - Marketing Department
  • 1992: Kevin Celuch - Marketing Department
  • 1991: Linda Showers - Marketing Department
  • 1990: Gerald McKean - Accounting Department
  • 1989: George Glisan - Marketing Department
  • 1988: Dixie Mills - Finance, Insurance & Law Department
  • 1987: Jim Cox - Marketing Department
  • 1986: Mona Gardner - Finance, Insurance & Law Department
  • 1983: Max Rexroad - Accounting Department
  • 1982: Patricia Marcum-Grogg - Management & Quantitative Methods Department
  • 1981: Carson Varner - Finance, Insurance & Law Department
  • 1980: Edmund Ficek - Finance, Insurance & Law Department
2020-04-20T13:38:02.485-05:00 2020