Skip to main content
Student Anastasia Sotiropoulos receiving an Early Career Achievement Awards.

Early Career Achievement Awards

Early Career Achievement Awards (ECAA) recognize younger College of Business graduates who have demonstrated innovative and responsible professional leadership, the potential for future distinction and a commitment to serving others. One honoree is selected from each College of Business degree program. They return to campus to receive their award and share advice with current College of Business students through panel discussions.

This year the Early Career Achievement Awards will be held in the Spring semester due to COVID restrictions. Further details will be forthcoming about this year's event in the near future.

2021 - 2022 Award Recipients

  • Portrait of Mira Andreeva

    Mira Andreeva '12

    Mira Andreeva graduated in 2012 with a Bachelor of Science in Insurance.

  • Portrait of Abby Devore

    Abby Devore '13

    Abby is a 2013 graduate of Illinois State University.

  • Portrait of Brandon French

    Brandon French '08

    Brandon French is a Certified Public Accountant and a Miller, Cooper & Co., Ltd. partner.

  • Portrait of Ryan Hamlin

    Ryan Hamlin '14

    Integrated Marketing Communications.

  •  Portrait of Miles Major

    Miles Major '12

    Miles Major grew up in Crystal Lake, Illinois and graduated from Illinois State University with a Bachelor of Science and Master of Professional Accountancy in 2012.

  • Portrait of Kayla Morse

    Kayla Morse '16

    While Kayla was attending Illinois State University, she held an HR internship at BorgWarner in Dixon, IL.

  • Portrait of Jared Sanders

    Jared Sanders '10

    Since graduating from Illinois State University, Jared quickly developed in his career to serving as a trusted executive for numerous corporations.

  • Portrait of Amber Schaumburg

    Amber Schaumburg '13

    Amber Schaumburg graduated from Illinois State University in 2013 and moved to Chicago to start her career as an Account Coordinator with News America Marketing.

  • Portrait of Cassie Shaw

    Cassie Shaw '14

    Amber Schaumburg graduated from Illinois State University in 2013 and moved to Chicago to start her career as an Account Coordinator with News America Marketing.

  • Portrait of Kyle Sherman

    Kyle Sherman '12

    Coming out of school Kyle really didn't know what he wanted to do but he found an industry that he enjoyed learning about.

  • Portrait of Mary Surprenant

    Mary Surprenant '11

    After graduation, Mary Surprenant began her career as a Business Education Teacher back home in Vermilion County, IL.

  • Portrait of Pierre Yapo

    Pierre Yapo '12

    Pierre Yapo is a trained tax professional with approximately eight years of tax advisory experience.

Nomination Guidelines

Nominees must be graduate students from one of the programs in the College of Business.

  • Career Accomplishmentse

    • Exemplary professional capabilities as demonstrated through entrepreneurial success, rapid promotions, industry recognition, or innovative practices leading to measurable outcomes.
    • Demonstrated innovative and responsible professional leadership and the potential for distinction in the long term.
  • Personal Characteristics

    • Embodies the five core principals outlined in the College of Business Standards of Professional Behavior and Ethical Conduct: responsibility, honesty, respect, fairness, and trust.
    • Shown a substantial commitment to the service of others.
    • Continued his or her professional growth through education or professional credentials.

More Information

If you have any questions about the Early Career Achievement Awards, please contact:

  • Steve Vandiver

    Executive Director of Marketing
    College of Business
    Campus Box 5500
    Normal, IL 61790-5500